electric trolling motors and vexilar transducers

• bradcegla

i heard through other sources that mounting a transducer on the end of an electric trolling motor can cause interference with the depth finder and will give you bad or no readings. now i would like to buy the electric trolling motor transducer kit for my vexilar and mount it on my bow onto my minn-kota 55pd. does anyone know if the above statements are true?

robstenger
    Northern Twin Cities, MN

I’m no expert, but it would depend on your frequencies of your Sonar unit and Vexilar. It also depends on the depth you are fishing. Imagine a cone or triagle that at its narrowest point is at your trolling motor transducer. The deeper you go the wider the cone/triangle. Imagine the same thing for your sonar transducer on the back of your boat. At some point or depth these cones / triangles are going to overlap. If these sonars are running on the same frequency you could have intereference. This depth might not happen until 18′ or so depending on how far these transducers are apart and the degree of your cones.

What do you have for your other Sonar and what degree cone is on your Vexilar? With this information, I’m sure one of the Techie Guru’s here will be able to answer your question.

ryan-hale
    NW Ia

I’ve ran a Vex off the front off my boat for a few years now.It’s great when your on a vertical jig bite and want to fish in the bow of the boat.Jolly Ann Marine can get you set up with everything you need.
    Ryan Hale

scottsteil
    Central MN

It sounds like you are worried about the trolling motor causing interference with the unit you are mounting on it. If that is the case, you will be fine. If you get interference it will be from wiring the unit wrong. If you wire it to the battery that is powering the trolling motor you may have trouble. Most flasher interference is created from the wiring or power source in open water use.