Will LCD Freeze

• ptc
    Apple Valley/Isle, MN

There is a pretty good discussion going on regarding this on Walleye Central. It got me curious, and I figured THIS would be the place to find the answer.

If I use or store and or use my LCD depth finders in my boat during a MN winter will the temp damage them?

bill_cadwell
    Rochester, Minnesota

I have never had a problem when fishing BUT I don’t have a garage so I always bring mine inside the house after fishing. I’d rather be safe than sorry and would rather spend money fishing than replacing something because I didn’t take care of it. Bill

Don Hanson

I have never had a problem with units not working in cold weather. I do store the lcd’s inside when not in use. Most owners manual advise not to store in extreme cold or heat.

DaveB
    Inver Grove Heights MN

I am no expert-but here what I am thinking. Any liquid will freeze-so the answer is yes. I think that the liquid that is in LCD lights is probably good to at LEAST 40 below zero-probably much colder. Most car stereos use LCD, have you ever had a morning when they dont work? Sometimes you can almost see the display slowing down under extreme cold, almost like the liquid is becoming gel like-but I have never heard of weather making them cold enough to freeze.

jon_jordan
    St. Paul, Mn

I have never had a unit damaged by cold weather. As Dave said, I suppose at some point, like -40 they will freeze up…. I have stored LCR’s outdoors all winter – undamaged.

I have had units that slow down, or the screen gets “fluttery” in very, very cold weather. I have found that if you turn on the backlighting to it’s highest setting, the small amout of heat produced cures the problem.

J.

ptc
    Apple Valley/Isle, MN

I KNEW this was the place to look for answers!

Thanks!

lundgeye
    Rochester, Minnesota