Best Depth Finder Under $200

• Buzzbait
    Winona Mn 55987

Hey guys I am looking for a decent depth finder for under $200. I am a poor college student so that is about all I can afford right now. There was one installed on my boat (1995 Nitro 170DC) previously but it doesn’t work. Any suggestions would be great. Also will it be a lot of work to change them out or can I use some of the old stuff from the other depth finder. Thanks for the help.

pfluggy
    ROSEMOUNT, MN

I JUST PUT AN EAGLE 480 IN THE FRONT OF THE RIG ,ONLY USED IT 6 OR SO TIMES .I THINK ITS BETTER THAN THE X 75 IN THE BACK OF THE BOAT. ITS PRICED OUT AT 200.FOR THE PRICE I TNINK YOU CANT GO WRONG.

dm5000
    Des Moines, IA

If you do a quick search, someone asked the same question about a month ago and there were a lot of good answers.

My answer was the Eagle 480.

Good luck!
    Dave

Buzzbait
    Winona Mn 55987

Thanks for the input. Sorry I should have done a search first. The eagle 480 seems to be the popular one. Is there any particular reason this one is a lot better than others. Is there anything specific I should be looking for. All I really want is one with a good display and one that is very user friendly. Thanks

john23
    St. Paul, MN

I gotta vote for the Eagle FishMark 480, also. I just put one in my small boat and like it quite a bit. It is better than any of the mid-high end models of a few years ago. I especially like that it comes with built-in temp.

John

dm5000
    Des Moines, IA

I think the reason that the Eagle 480 is so popular is that it is one of very few units under $200 that has pixel resolution over 400. I think the Garmin and Lowrance (who also make Eagle) units in the price range are generally 200 or 300 pixel units.