New to Fish, Fishfinder >~$250

• Fiftimedun
    NULL

Hello all,

I fish up here in the interior of Alaska and I am new to fishing and to the area so I figured I’d pick up a fish finder. However it must be a portable one since I only have a canoe but I also go with other people in their canoe’s. I have a budget of about $250 and for the life of me I cannot decide on a unit. I know nothing about branding, other than Humminbird and Lowrance are the lead manufactures. I have seen the Humminbird Fishin’ Buddy 140c and that peaked my interest, but I would like someone who owns some electronics to give their 2 cents on what I should be looking at or getting with my budget. Thank you very much for any assistance you can give or any input you have.

aleb
    Butler county Iowa

Welcome to IDO. I have a bottom line lil buddy. I have had it since 2005. I used it one week straight and have not had it out since. It runs on 3 or 4 C batteries. The one I have finds fish to the side as well as to the bottom. Nice little unit but it’s not color. Has alarms for when a fish is in the area and other stuff I really liked it I bought a boat with all the electronic in and that’s why I don’t use it

Fiftimedun
    NULL

Thank you very much!

After some research it seems Humminbird bought out bottom line.

From Humminbird site:
    Does Humminbird own the Bottomline brand?
    The Bottomline brand was purchased by Johnson Outdoors in 1995. We no longer manufacture, sell or service this brand. There are no known service facilities for this brand nor parts available on the aftermarket.
    source: http://www.humminbird.com/Faq.aspx?TaxonomyId=91A3189

The new Humminbird uses 6 AA batteries instead.