Outboard gas/oil mix mistake

• u31356

I accidently ran some (probably about 5 miles worth) 50/1 mix through my 92 30h Johnson that should have been 100/1. I noticed the problem when the motor became doggy & wouldn’t accelerate. Hopefully this didn’t cause damage, but could it gum things up?

Any suggestions on how to remedy this situation?

wade_kuehl
    Northwest Iowa

I would guess it might have fouled the plugs a bit but better to have run it too rich than too thin. Clean or replace the plugs, maybe run some seafoam through it. I’m not an expert on this at all but there are some guys here who should know better than I do.

Good luck!

jon_jordan
    St. Paul, Mn

The 50/1 mix should not be a problem at all. The manufacturer probably recommended a 50/1 mix for break in. I’m surprised you noticed any performance issues other than a lot more smoke.

Add gas to get the 100/1 mix and run a can of Seafoam through the tank.

u31356

Thanks Jon – can you clarify your Seafom suggestion. Is Seafom a gas additive that I would put in the tank? Can I get it at Napa? If so, how much should I add to a tank? Or do I need to fog the carb with it?

jon_jordan
    St. Paul, Mn

Just add it to the gas per the directions on the can. NAPA may have Seafoam. I buy it at Fleet Farm for about $3.50 a can.

nick
    Lakeville, MN

I like to run my first tank of the year with mixed gas, just so I know the oil pump is working, smokes like crazy, but piece of mind is worth it IMO.

suzuki
    Woodbury, Mn

I can’t imagine that hurting anything. If it continues to run poorly change the plugs.

bigshooter
    Rogers, Minnesota

what do you think a older twenty horse should be running at for oil/fuel ratio?

joshbjork
    Center of Iowa

Everything after 1960-1 is 50:1. And I use the term “everything” loosely, but the technology of the big outboard companies was upgraded about then.