Trolling Motor Battery Rigging

• kornking
    Mount Vernon, Iowa

First off, I want to thank everyone who responded to my question last week on trolling motors. I have decided I am going to get one, either a Motorguide that puts out 82# of thrust or the Minn Kota that puts out 74#.

I will need a 24V battery system to power either choice. Similar to the post below, I have some questions on batteries, but more about rigging them up. Sad to say, I am an electrical engineer, though that doesn’t mean much. An on-going family joke revolves around my multiple college degrees and my apparent inability to wire a three-way light switch! Seriously, though, its not quite that bad. Some of the projects I start do actually end up working.

Back to the batteries. I have a 12V system right now on my boat. I need 24V. The way I see it, I have several options:

1. Add one more battery in series and run the trolling motor off the totem pole of two.

Concern: Economical, as I am only buying one battery in this case; but my present battery is a starting battery, when I should probably be using a deep-cycle. Is it a bad idea to use the a starting battery and a deep-cycle in series together, is mixing and matching a no-no?

2. Buy two deep cycle batteries, making sure each has a enough cranking amps to turn over my engine and donate my brand new interstate starting battery to the needy; still just 2 batteries.

Concern: Is starting the engine hard on the deep cycle batteries? This involves buying two new batteries, but they will be “matched”. I would rig this up as a series totem pole like the first option.

3. Keep the cranking battery and 12V side of the house as is and buy a bank of two deep cycle batteries and wire the trolling motor separately. Independent 12V and 24V power busses.