Hunting a blowdown area?

• rwestb

The area my family and I have been hunting for the last ten years was hit hard by straight line winds this summer and left a complete mess of the woods. Almost impossible in most spots for four wheeler travel and walking is an absolute nightmare. So my question is before we fire up the chainsaws and start clearing out our trails does anyone have any experience with how the hunting is in an area after it has been totally blown up. Should we go through the week worth of work it will take to make it possible to get to and from our stands or should we look for another area to hunt. Just wondering if the deer will stay in the area or leave. I know I sure as hell wouldn’t like walking around and jumping over logs every step I had to take.

kooty
    Keymaster
    1 hour 15 mins to the Pond

Welcome to IDO!!!

There were areas like this out in the Black Hills that I hunted alot growing up. The forest service would clear cut the trees all about waste high and just let the trees lay. Not sure why, I’m assuming there is a biological reason. Anyway, those areas were great bedding areas. A real pain the butt to hunt though, very hard to be quiet climbing over tree after tree. The ones we hunted were all established, so I’m not sure how a new one is going to affect your deer.

tdhowen

That happened to our land a few years ago and the deer still used the area. You can here them coming from a long ways away jumping over the wind falls.We cut trails and the deer used them for ease of travel also. So you can cut a trail to your advantage and have them walk right by your stands.

walleyebuster5
    Central MN

Quote:

That happened to our land a few years ago and the deer still used the area. You can here them coming from a long ways away jumping over the wind falls.We cut trails and the deer used them for ease of travel also. So you can cut a trail to your advantage and have them walk right by your stands.