Deer heart victuals.

• robby
    Quad Cities

Anyone else eat their deer hearts? I am thinking about smoking a couple this year. I plan to do this to whole hearts. I plan to brine ahead of time, unless someone can tell me a good reason not too. The heart is all muscle, so not a true organ meat. There is no reason will not work. I am not a newbie to smoking, but this is a new one for me. I mostly smoke fowl, or pork. Sometimes true red meat. I know enough to know that some woods go with some meats, a few go with all. If anyone has tried this, please chime in. Famous Grouse, Randy. You guys around?

robby
    Quad Cities

Just had another thought, the heart has 4 open chambers. Why not stuff it and then smoke it?

Gregg Gunter

Slice it thin, remove veinous tissue, fry it hot and fast in oil and soy sauce, no more than medium rare. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Our first taste ritual.

gimruis
    Plymouth, MN

I’ve had it boiled in saltwater, sliced thin and seasoned with pepper. It’s an acquired taste. Has a similar taste to roast beef. As Gregg Gunter stated, it’s important to remove the tissue around the actual heart.

glenn57
    cold spring mn

Anyone else eat their deer hearts? I am thinking about smoking a couple this year. I plan to do this to whole hearts. I plan to brine ahead of time, unless someone can tell me a good reason not too. The heart is all muscle, so not a true organ meat. There is no reason will not work. I am not a newbie to smoking, but this is a new one for me. I mostly smoke fowl, or pork. Sometimes true red meat. I know enough to know that some woods go with some meats, a few go with all. If anyone has tried this, please chime in. Famous Grouse, Randy. You guys around?

my brother smokes the heart all the time. According to him you need to slice it before you put it in the brine. The heart is really dense and the brine won’t take the brine unless sliced. I’ve had his and it’s ok.

Charles