Hudson to Stillwater

• G_Smitty
    New Richmond, WI

Looking for any suggestions for the Croix between Hudson and Stillwater… I’ve really only fished the Croix south of Hudson this summer and am thinking about trying the area north… I assume the keys are Anderson Point, the power plant, the WI side across from Anderson, and the Stillwater bridge area?

steve-demars
    Stillwater, Minnesota

I know some of you are shopping for shortcuts to fishing the St Croix but sometimes the best way to learn the river is to fish it. I moved to Stillwater in 1977 and have primarily fished the river that entire time (29 years) and I am still learning things each time I go out. You have the right approach by breaking the stretch into key areas. One other thing to consider is when to fish each key area. Some spots are a little more sheltered and can be fished during windy days or when there is a lot of boat traffic. The Hudson Swing Bridge area is a good example – it is a No Wake Zone so the cruiser traffic should not run you off and it provides good fishing for a wide variety of species. Andersen Bay is another example – it is a No Wake Zone and is sheltered from the wind a lot of the time unless you get a strong south wind. That entire stretch from Hudson to Stillwater is some great water, easily accessible to a lot of metro area anglers and has good fishing. I don’t want to give up specific fishing spots on the web site because I have learned there will be 5 boats sitting in it the next time I go there. My advice is to get out and fish the area and do some systematic searching. I keep a journal of each trip and can tell you exactly what I caught, when I caught it, and what was working under specific conditions (water levels, water temps, weather conditions, etc.). I am anal as heck but you would be surprised how often I pull out my journal looking to match the conditions today to something that worked in the past. If you are really looking for shortcuts, hire a good experienced