guide needed

• lenny_jamison
    Bay City , WI

A couple buddies and I are planning a trip to the Columbia next year. Any suggestions regarding a good area, guide, and the optimal time of the year for the trip would be greatly appreciated. I would also appreciate any tips concerning techniques used most. Thanks.

Gator Hunter

cfwalleye

Gator Hunter,

There are a few good walleye guides around. Touche’ out of Rufus, OR is one of the best. I’m fairly new to the lower Columbia and only fish for walleye, but it seems that you can fish some area on the river almost all year long. I’m a member of the Lower Columbia Walleye Club, and if you guys end up out here, its not tough to get a couple boats from the club out there to show you around. For salmon, steelhead, sturgeon (and the rest of the scrapfish ), I have no idea. I’d suggest contacting Larry McClintock at [email protected]. He runs Critter Gitters which is a custom walleye tackle shop. If it swims in that river, he knows how to fish for it or at the very least, who to talk to. His website is: http://www.playnposm.com (it should be back up shortly). His tournament partner, Cal (http://home.earthlink.net/~eyechsr/) is another great source of info. He seems to know where to find the 10+s.

lenny_jamison
    Bay City , WI

Thanks a lot cfwalleye. I appreciate the info. Walleyes are all we will be going for. Ten plus sounds real good. I’ll check on the people you suggested. You didn’t really give a good time of the year. Is there a good prespawn bite?

Gator Hunter

cfwalleye