hooking flats

• djbeagle
    Onalaska, wi

Help!

I am new to catching flats. I am not having problems finding them, but bringing them to the boat is proving difficult. I am using various types of 5/0 hooks with a 8-10 inch bullhead. When I get a strike I allow them to run for awhile then set the hook. I am losing more fish than I am bringing in the boat. I hook the bullheads through the lips starting on the bottom side and coming out on top. Should I be using a quick strike rig or different hooks? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!!!!

dirk_w.
    Minnesota

I’d suggest switching to a larger 10/0 hook such as a Mustad Big Gun Bait Hook 10829BLN or Gamakatsu Octopus Hook. You may have to check out a salt water catalogue or catfish web site to find them. Then hook the bullhead beetween the tail and the dorsal fin, not the lips.

Also, you may want to switch to a braid to help set the hook. When you set the hook with a braid your hook will pop out of your bait a lot easier. I use 80 lb Power Pro and love it.

You could also try down sizing your bullheads a bit to 5-7 inchers. If you use a quick strike rig make sure they are legal.

I usually dont let a flat run too long either before I set. Just make sure the slack is out and go for it.

Try the above and you should see your hook up rate go up.

mavzer
    Hager City, WI

Dirk

I see you have changed hooks… are you actually setting into the flats harder now. I have finally took your advice n the baitcaster’s!!! I guess I am kinda bullheaded at times as well…. I still like bluegills the best though!!!!

dirk_w.
    Minnesota

There is hope in the world! What reel did you get? I’d use bluegills to if I could buddy.

mstrctmn
    Omaha, NE/ Fort Worth, TX