Best Pool 4 Launch

• mahtofire14
    Mahtomedi, MN

I’m a Pool 4 noob and bought a bass boat last fall and would love to take it out on Pool 4 for walleye and bass. I rarely take this boat on rivers and am wondering which launch would be best for avoiding hitting rocks or other structure. Is that even a valid concern? Never fished there from a boat.

Mike Klein
    Hastings, MN

there isn’t too much to hit just a few wing dams up on there mn side by the dam you should see them. buy a map chip your good to go. early spring usually only everts is open. after that many other ramps open up.

GRG

Watch for water logged logs floating down river and your speed. Saw someone motoring up river and when they hit the floating log their lower unit went flying past them! Most amazing thing I have seen to see lower unit and prop flying past a boat.

And it gets pretty chaotic at the landings. Work on backing the rig in an empty parking lot.

walleyeguy000
    Rochester, MN

I like the Wisconsin back channel landing. Very easy in and out

mahtofire14
    Mahtomedi, MN

My backing is pretty good. Was out just about every day for the last two months of last season. But I appreciate the tips! I would have to think that lower unit was a sight to see!

Outdraft
    Western Wi.

Pool 4 has many boat landings from Alma to ld3 above red wing, kinda hard to answer y our question

mahtofire14
    Mahtomedi, MN

I know it was pretty vague, I guess more on the Lake Pepin area. I’m just worried about messing up my fiberglass by hitting something so I was curious if there’s a deeper launch than others. Doesn’t really matter where.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

Once the ice clears out Mahtofire, I would suggest Colvill Park. Great ramp, free, docks and in a harbor. The water isn’t too deep so I keep my motor trimmed up. You’re about 5 miles to the head of the lake and you’re in the last no wake zone on the river portion of the pool.

eyeguy507