Need some advice for a soreback!

• fishnut

I’ve been deeling with a protruding disc for a couple of years now and the doc says I’ll have to live with it. Says the only way they do surgery is if I can’t walk. I’ve been trying to think of some things to help me through the long days of standing on a trolling motor to help me through the day. I’ve tried to do some sitting, but every time I get a bight or feel like I’m in premium water I have a tendency to always be standing. I’ve been looking at Gamblers and some other boats and see the recessed foot pedals they install. My question is have any of you experienced using that set up and if it helps on the lower back, or if you have any tricks you could share besides pumping the ibuprofen? Thanks!

Jeremiah Shaver
    La Crosse, WI

Is it more in your lower back or upper back? I don’t have a disk problem, but my lower back gets tired just from standing all day on the water…Has anyone tried those “backsaver” wrap around straps that go on your lower back? Just a thought

rgeister
    SW Wisconsin

My dad and I utilize the bicycle style “butt” seats in both our boats (A Fisher and a Ranger, so neither has the recessed pedal). This device greatly helps relieve the feet, the back, the knees without too much interruption in your ability to accurately cast to locations, as sitting in a chair prohibits many styles of flipping, pitching, or casting.

Anyway, Hope this helps… I wouldn’t trade my “butt” seat for anything!

onthewater
    Roanoke, Virginia

I walk quite a bit which strengthens my back. I also go to the Y which also helps, and I stretch.

I run a Basscat, and it has the trolling motor’s foot control ressesed into the floor which helps as well.

Hope that helps.

Thanks,

OnTheWater

perch14

FISHNUT