Bass Patterns

• dewman90

I will be heading up near Woman Lake this Friday hitting a couple different lakes. I just looked at the weather and it looks COLD for early August!

In your guys past experience, how does this cold front effect the fish? I would assume it would make them lethargic and pushes them deeper. What pattern would you be looking for a 3 day cold/rainy front? I am by no means an expert so any advice would really help!

Steve Root
    South St. Paul, MN

Low and slow. Base of the weedline, smaller baits. Look for inside turns in the weedline where they can “tuck in”. Depending on water clarity, most of your action might concentrated at sunrise or sunset.

And you never know, they might be just fine with this too. Sometimes a change in the weather shakes them loose.

SR

SpoonbillSlayer
    St. Michael, MN

I don’t think this time a year it matters that much. It’s only one day or two also. I would fish how you were planning. If they seem a bit slower, then adjust from there. Good Luck.

nhamm
    Inactive
    Robbinsdale

Couple of both varieties liked leeches lately. Although pretty easy to catch anything with this front moving in.

Depends on what the sun is doing for me, if that thing pops out and all those critters start coming back out to play in the shallows I’d be looking for pads with deep water nearby and poke around in those for blacks.

On Woman have caught probably a couple dozen crays with claws missing if that tells ya anything for browns. Hope it helps, might get after some bass tomorrow will report if I find anything.

Attachments:
    1. IMG_20170802_193046350_HDR.jpg

FryDog62